A couple newbie questions

General chat about The Hunter. For suggestions, please use the "Suggestions"-room below.
Hyazakyte

A couple newbie questions

Post by Hyazakyte »

Howdy folks, I'm kinda new to the game and had a couple questions....

Hunting in Timbergold I have noticed many elk carcasses lying about... do they attract grizzlies or wolves perhaps?
I also notice that you can collect them with your Huntermate, why is that? Do they add to your total Elk harvests or are they treated as rare finds?

Lastly, does practicing in Shooting Ranges increase your skill level with the particular weapon or are they simply used to familiarize yourself with the weapon sights IE: test your sights over various distances/range.

Thanx for any help,
I'm sure I will have more questions as I progress, but that's it for now! ;)
Spoiler:
HARVESTS: 659 - HUNT TIME: 13d 14h 40m 34s - DISTANCE: 494.80 kms - TROPHIES: GOLD 1 - SILVER 2 - BRONZE 2
PROFILE :: JOIN theHunter
RickC
Outfitter

Re: A couple newbie questions

Post by RickC »

The elk carcasses attract wolves. You get nothing for harvesting them.

Shooting at the range does not add to your skills.
caledonianblues
Master Hunter

Post by caledonianblues »

The wiki is your friend as it has answers to the majority of questions.

www.thehunterwiki.com

That's not to say you can't just ask here, but sometimes the wiki gets you the answer you need quicker.
Radamus
Master Hunter

Post by Radamus »

Welcome!
Something to try on the elk, set up a treestand near one and eventually wolves will come in to feed on it- That's funny to watch in itself, good place to practice with your bow shooting.