I need help to understand the specific effectiveness of each one of this shotgun calibers: 10 GA, 12 GA 16 GA 20 GA.

General chat about The Hunter. For suggestions, please use the "Suggestions"-room below.
Threwlys
Tracker

I need help to understand the specific effectiveness of each one of this shotgun calibers: 10 GA, 12 GA 16 GA 20 GA.

Post by Threwlys »

I am very new in this game and my hunting experience from The Hunter Call of the Wild has no use here at all. So, i'm asking if you guys could help to clarify me about what are the differences in the use of this weapons that i own:
- 10 GA Lever Action Shotgun;
- 12 GA Pump Action Shtogun;
- 16 GA Side by Side Shotgun; e
- 20 GA Semi-Automatic Shotgun.
Which one is more effective to hunt birds, varmints, etc.? I like to hunt all of them.
Many thanks in advance for all your help.
1Al
Hunter

Re: I need help to understand the specific effectiveness of each one of this shotgun calibers: 10 GA, 12 GA 16 GA 20 GA.

Post by 1Al »

It depends on each person, you have to try them, but they are all good shotgun for hunting varmints and small stuff.
VonStratos
Outfitter

Re: I need help to understand the specific effectiveness of each one of this shotgun calibers: 10 GA, 12 GA 16 GA 20 GA.

Post by VonStratos »

Ok i am no expert so i gonna give a very simple answer. the lowest the number the more is the "power" so a 10ga can take down in a ethical way large animals while the 20ga only is allowed for birds and rabbits, that is not a technical answer, just a basic way to put it, more informed hunters may elaborate better.