Nice Red Deer Spot on Val-des-Bois

Enjoy the fan made guides and experience of fellow players or write your own!
TheSheWolf
Hunter

Nice Red Deer Spot on Val-des-Bois

Post by TheSheWolf »

I'm sure Red Deer aren't hard for anyone to find, being so easy to call in and so numerous, but I did find a really neat spot purely by accident the other day. My apologies if it's already been found/posted/is common knowledge. I was trying to get a rank in the competition which requires a red deer to be shot from a stand or blind, so I set up my new free stand in the standard spot I usually use down at the river from the southern lodge. I figured I'd range east from there and wander the river while calling, and found to my dismay (I'm a noob and haven't used the ground blind much) that if I tried to set up a ground blind after spotting a nice bull, obviously, he'd spook. So I set it up there more permanently. I've now been doing the following, and each time running into a ton of red deer very fast. You'll need either blinds or luck, and a silent weapon, to make the most of this. So:

- Start Val-des-Bois at 7 am, at Maison du Neant
- RUN 2/3 or so of the way down to the river; feel free to do a red deer call or two along the way, and if there's a response, slow down so as not to spook them
- Head to the river, where the stand is on my map. Call a bit, and watch what comes in; a lot of times I get big bulls come over from north of the river, or south where I came from, or more commonly, from the river to the east along either shore (in tree cover, at first).
- After a few minutes, if nothing turns up, just head east. Go along the water for a bit, but then cut south into the forest and skirt the river, as I've found a lot of red deer tend to be wandering down the river toward your first call.