Ammunition Reloading

Discussions, Stories, Hints & Tips about everything outdoors. Biking, Hiking, Fishing, Shooting, Camping etc.
paul2012
Tracker

Ammunition Reloading

Post by paul2012 »

As to not dilute the thread about surplus rifles I'm making this its own topic. As I said, I am new to reloading and although I've been looking into it and on/off studying it for a while now, there is no one I have a personal connection with that does it to learn from. With that, I'm kind of breaking new ground here and I'm getting all the knowledge I can before I get in over my head.

Especially when the rifle I'm reloading for was actually replaced by the 1903 Springfield because it had a tendency to blow up or twist the bolt if they pushed it too far. Plus there is a bunch more things I need to work out with my Krag, it being a new acquisition from the Cabela's used guns racks and it being an old war horse it'd be best if I take my time. I'm not even sure the jump from 180gr to 220gr can fix the seemingly 2ft high zeroing on the battle sights.For that reason I'm planning on dipping my toes into the water with something a bit simpler like .300 savage for my uncles model 99. I have easy to replicate loading data from the Hornady manual and there is little need to experiment. He doesn't shoot much aside from annual hunting, but having a more consistent load would be nice as stores wont always have it in stock.