Your oppinion, crossbow vs compound bow

Discussions, Stories, Hints & Tips about everything outdoors. Biking, Hiking, Fishing, Shooting, Camping etc.
Snapfoot
Tracker

Your oppinion, crossbow vs compound bow

Post by Snapfoot »

I have no experience in compound bow, give me your reson.
why compound bow ?
and why crossbow you choose ?

Tanngnjostr
Master Hunter

Re: Your oppinion, crossbow vs compound bow

Post by Tanngnjostr »

I own two compound bows (Parker Python and Snakebite) and the Tenpoint crossbow.

The compound bows (especially the Parker Python - the Pulsar is said to be similar, but I don't own it) are very silent and thus great for e. g. killing whole herds of deer or multiple turkeys from a tree stand. I use it whenever I want to kill an animal without spooking others that are close or even very close to it.

The crossbow is a bit louder, but it has more power. Because of this it's more difficult to take out a whole herd of animals with it, because it's more likely that when you shoot one, the others will spook (not saying it's impossible, it depends on the situation). But since it has more power, it's better for bigger game and for longer distances. Also, you can shoot prone with the crossbow which is impossible with the regular bows. The reloading time is longer though. The crossbow is great when a single animal is approaching you (the occasional moose cow for example) that you need to kill, but you're waiting for that bull that's in render range but still 80 meters away. You can of course do the same with a compound bow, but with the Tenpoint you have more power and can cover a longer distance more easily.
Image Image Image
JK_ElkHunter
Outfitter

Post by JK_ElkHunter »

Tanngnjostr wrote:I own two compound bows (Parker Python and Snakebite) and the Tenpoint crossbow.