Etiquette guide for hosts

Invitations to hunts and discussions of Multiplayer related issues
XxStrong1xX
Outfitter

Etiquette guide for hosts

Post by XxStrong1xX »

I know there is a guide for new players in this forum, but I feel the need for one for hosts as well. I have been playing this game off and on since 2010, but had never tried MP(Multiplayer) until a couple of months ago. I met a lady on here and we decided to play together as a way to spend time together since we live in different countries. We have had some wonderful experiences with some fantastic hosts. But, unfortunately this is the exception and not the rule.

I know 99% of the people who need to see this never will, but maybe if it is out there it will help someone become a better host/player. All these suggestions apply to open MP games. What you do in private games is your business. We try to be respectful to the host when we join a game but there should be some reciprocity and mutual respect from the host as well.

First a few rants/observations:

1. Why start a multiplayer game if you're only going to log off in 10 minutes? I know emergencies come up, but don't start a game unless you're able to dedicate at least an hour to it.

2. Why start a MP game when you want to play alone and not be bothered?

3. Don't use a MP game just to setup new equipment. Can't tell you how many times I've joined a game just to have the host tell me they are shutting down in a few minutes because they were just placing stuff. This is what single player mode is for.

4. People from all over the world play this game. If you're going to host an open game at least have basic skills in English. It is pretty much the universal language in the world today.

5. If you're a bad person or just want to be a jerk, don't host a MP game just to mess with people.

Here are my guides/suggestions for hosts: