Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

This forum is for reporting bugs or glitches found involving the animals. Please use the animals species name in the topic title with description, titles with only "found a bug", "bug" and alike will be deleted.
Example title: Bear tracks disappear
User avatar
_dfad_
Tracker
Posts: 117
Joined: December 14th, 2017, 7:40 pm
Location: Ukraine/US

Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

Postby _dfad_ » January 13th, 2018, 1:08 pm

Bug Report
Game Mode: SP (did not try MP)

Description:
A game crashes a second after a shot directed to red fox on a distance 20-30 m.
Map: Bushrangers Run
Weapon: 12 GA Single Shot Shotgun
Player position: prone on a stone. Dog is nearby, also laying on a ground.

Steps to Reproduce:
The issue happens randomly and is not 100% reproducible. Happened three times for me during last 24h, while I was able to harvest 8 foxes without any issue, and also missed 2 or 3 times without any issue. Also no issue when shooting rabbits with birdshot, etc. The issue ony happens with foxes and buckshot, and when the target is hit.

So the best repro sequence that I can suggest is:
1. Move any direction until you hear a voice of a fox.
2. Use a caller.
3. Move to a stone nearby and lay down. Switch to the shotgun.
4. When a fox is at ~20-25 m, aim and fire.
==> with a probability of ~3/8, game crashes within a second.

Additional Information:
In the best case the game just crashes and I receive an error message. Will add the text or a screenshot if it arises once more.
In the worst case, PC hangs with black screen and does not even react to Ctrl-Alt-Del.

There are some strange messages in debug.log, but they seem to be recorded ~5 min before the crash.

[0113/154305:ERROR:cache_util_win.cc(43)] Unable to move the cache: 5
[0113/154305:ERROR:backend_impl.cc(134)] Unable to move cache folder [homedir]\AppData\Roaming\theHunter\cache to [homedir]\AppData\Roaming\theHunter\old_cache_000
[0113/154305:ERROR:backend_impl.cc(221)] Unable to create cache

Hardware data:
i3-4160, RAM 8 GB. First happened on GTX 650, now on integrated HD 4400 (GTX has failed today so I switched to internal video; the issue happened on both).
Win7 x64, antivirus: Zillya

What kind of additional diag data could be useful?

"5 FPS at Picabeen Bay" club ;)
User avatar
_dfad_
Tracker
Posts: 117
Joined: December 14th, 2017, 7:40 pm
Location: Ukraine/US

Re: Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

Postby _dfad_ » January 13th, 2018, 1:30 pm

Reproduced again and captured some screenshots

1. Identified a call
Image
Image

2. Calling
Image

3. Laying down a dog
Image

4. Aiming and shooting
Image

5. A second after
Image

"5 FPS at Picabeen Bay" club ;)
User avatar
_dfad_
Tracker
Posts: 117
Joined: December 14th, 2017, 7:40 pm
Location: Ukraine/US

Re: Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

Postby _dfad_ » January 14th, 2018, 7:47 am

As there were some messages in debug.log related to cache, I deleted [homedir]\AppData\Roaming\theHunter and [homedir]\AppData\Roaming\theHunterSteam entirely.
This did not help. During a test game, I harvested 2 foxes and 8 rabbits, wounded 2 more foxes, but the next fox crashed the game.
So, is there any option for verbose logging?

"5 FPS at Picabeen Bay" club ;)
MartinSundberg
EW Staff
EW Staff
Posts: 457
Joined: August 1st, 2017, 7:10 am

Re: Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

Postby MartinSundberg » January 15th, 2018, 8:40 am

I've not been able to replicate this by following your step by step process. So far all foxes that I've killed and harvested have not generated this problem. Could you try switching your language to the default(English) one and try this again? I'll continue to investigate.
User avatar
_dfad_
Tracker
Posts: 117
Joined: December 14th, 2017, 7:40 pm
Location: Ukraine/US

Re: Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

Postby _dfad_ » January 16th, 2018, 3:37 am

I switched the language to English and the issue seems to gone. On the last session, I was able to harvest 8 foxes with buckshot, wounded one more, and also one picked up with .17 rifle.

I however suppose that there is one more correlation. When the issue was happening, I had "Playing along" mission activated with 1st step completed. And the issue did not allow me to complete the mission normally. Later I was able to complete the mission in Val-des-bois reserve with .17 rifle, so another fox mission is active currently. Could this play a role?

"5 FPS at Picabeen Bay" club ;)
User avatar
_dfad_
Tracker
Posts: 117
Joined: December 14th, 2017, 7:40 pm
Location: Ukraine/US

Re: Shooting a fox crashes the game (and even OS sometimes)

Postby _dfad_ » February 3rd, 2018, 6:01 pm

Update on this.
It does not seem to relate on active mission.
I switched the language back to Russian and reproduced the issue again, though I'm two fox missions ahead now.
So, by now, foxes on BR are not compatible with a shotgun if your language is Russian. :)

"5 FPS at Picabeen Bay" club ;)

Return to “Animals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest