.308 Anschütz 1780 / VS \ 7mm Magnum Bullpup ?

General chat about The Hunter. For suggestions, please use the "Suggestions"-room below.
Boutchoo

.308 Anschütz 1780 / VS \ 7mm Magnum Bullpup ?

Post by Boutchoo »

Greetings!

I recently starting playing the Hunter and I am very pleased with the experience and atmosphere!

I currently have the .308, the 7mm and the Parker Python.

My question is: Which one is suited the best for certain situations

1- I am a beginner in weapons calibers, is the 7mm bigger or smaller than a .300/.308?
2- How does Scopes mesurements works: 12x50, 3-9×40mm, etc (What does the number after the "x" means? / 12x50mm
3- Is the 12x50 better on the 7mm or the .308, same as the 3-9x40?
4- Should I use the 7mm on longer distances than the .308 or vise-versa?

Thank you for reading!

Best regards,
Boutchoo! :mrgreen:
Knut
Outfitter

Re: .308 Anschütz 1780 / VS \ 7mm Magnum Bullpup ?

Post by Knut »

1 - the 7mm is slightly smaller than the .300/.308 which both have 7.65mm diameter - but the 7mm is more powerful than the .308
2 - the 2nd measurement states objective diameter. Real world scopes are denominated with magnification-x-objective diameter. But the 2nd does not have any effect in this game
3- the 12x50 has a higher magnification (12x vs. 9x), whether that's better depends on your needs. Both scopes fit on both rifles
4- both rifles are usable for long distances, just the .308 is less powerful

Honestly, it's much more important that you aim properly than which gun you're using.
“Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'" ― Isaac Asimov
snakeyes32
Outfitter

Post by snakeyes32 »

1) The 7mm is more powerful then the .308